Borders Textile Towerhouse gives visitors a unique insight into the region’s history of knitwear and tweed manufacture. Displays of fashion, artefacts, photographs and film bring to life over 200 years of tradition and innovation in the local woollen industries. Changing exhibitions showcase the continuing importance of the area in the world of quality textiles.
Also discover the fascinating story of the 500-year-old tower itself, the oldest building in Hawick, built at the time of the Borders Reivers. In the early 1700s, the tower became a fine townhouse and, later still, the leading local hotel, the focal point of Hawick’s annual Common Riding.
The building is home to a display of paintings by the noted Scottish watercolourist, Tom Scott (1854 – 1927), with a display of his paintings in what was once the hotel reading room, where the artist would read the newspapers.
Complete your visit in the quality gift shop, which stocks locally-sourced gifts, toys and artwork alongside specialist books on craft, textiles and local history.
We host a programme of fun and educational workshops. Group tours and visits can be organised on request.
Take a look at our Museums & Galleries Guide to see what’s on here and at our other venues throughout the Scottish Borders.
- free admission
- hearing loop
- disabled toilets
- disabled access
- baby changing facilities
- accessible by public transport
- assistance dogs welcome
- coach tours welcome
- free parking nearby
- group tours
Open until 24 December, then open 27, 28, 30 December 2019
1 April – 31 October
Mon-Sat 10.00 -16.30
Sun 12.00 – 15.00
1 Nov – 31 March 2020
Mon-Sat 10.00 – 16.00